Yoga Brain

I went to check out Prenatal Yoga on January 22, 2014 at Belly Bliss which is at Desert Perinatal Spa.  I arrived a few minutes late, but it was okay since two other pregnant mums were late as well.  I brought my yoga mat, but there are free ones that anybody can use.  Pillows are available and it’s used during the class to sit on or to put under your knees.  

The Prenatal Yoga class consisted of 8 other mummies to be.  Most were a lot bigger than me.  The class was taught by a nice blonde woman.  The moves were easy to do.. some were challenging.  The class just flew by.  At the end you lie on your side and the teacher tells you to relax parts of your body.  I swear the girl next to me fell asleep since she was breathing really hard.  I will definitely be going back to Belly Bliss twice a week if possible.  The prices are reasonable at $8 per class or a package deal at 5 classes for $32.  I learned an old best friend of mine is also pregnant.  She’s 3 weeks ahead of me though.  She’s having her third baby.  I’m trying to convince her to join me sometime at the yoga classes.

Ivan and I had a consultation with the midwife Kathya Del Aguila last week.  She is so friendly and very passionate about being a midwife.  She talks fast since she’s from New York.  We knew after our consultation that we wanted to hire her to be the midwife to deliver my baby.  I called her recently and she was so excited that we picked her.  We have set up a first prenatal visit for Tuesday and she’ll set up an appointment for lab work at the visit.

A few people have asked if I’ve had any weird cravings.  Nothing too funky yet.  I have been craving pasta and nachos lately.

We met with doula Briana Mager on Saturday.  She was very professional and informative.  Ivan thought she was like a strict teacher.  We didn’t click with her.  She was nice, but not super friendly.  The search for a doula still goes on.  I have three more doulas that I want to consult with.  Hopefully, we’ll get to meet up with all of them this week.

Ivan and I have still been searching for insurance.  Kat (Kathya) recommended we talk to her lady who does her insurance paperwork.  I talked to her, but she didn’t really know much.  She said that Anthem Blue Cross PPO would cover Kat.  Things have changed with Obamacare and Anthem Blue Cross don’t have PPOs anymore.  I talked to an insurance broker and she said that as long as my midwife Kat was state insured, I could use Assurant Health.  Ivan has found two other PPOs.  Since it’s the weekend, we’ll have to wait to Monday to find out which insurance to buy.

I have been lucky since I have nausea, but I haven’t been puking.  I tried the Sea Band which are supposed to help with morning sickness.  You put two bands on your pressure points.

sea band to help morning sickness

I find the bands to be really tight.  I think it makes it worse.  I’ve only tried it twice, but usually I take the bands off since I still feel sick or the bands are hurting me.  Sucking on peppermint seems to work.  I only burned a candle with peppermint oil once.  I do like the smell of it.  I will have to test that one further to see if helps with the nausea.

The flowers just keep coming.  Ivan bought me flowers last week with a really sweet note.

flwrs

Then, I got some from our monkeys The Daves (Big Dave, Lil Dave and Swedish Dave).  Today, I got some from Big Dave’s cousin Le Dave from France.  I’m still not sure how many Dave the monkeys are out there.  Must be a lot.. because they keep popping up!  I love the flowers.. it’s nice to have fresh, beautiful flowers on the table.  Hope there’s more Daves to send me flowers.

My mum brought me some chicken and pork adobo.  She must be trying to get me to eat more meat so I get my protein!  She brought Ivan salmon and tuna.  I love mum’s home cooking and adobo is my favorite Filipino dish.  Mums are awesome.

I’ve been getting pregnancy brain.  You tend to forget things when you’re pregnant.  I had a headache, so I grabbed my water, took a sip and took a Tylenol.  I put the water back in my purse, but I forgot to put the cap back on.  It spilled ALL OVER my purse.  Good thing I remembered to put eye drops in my eyes, otherwise I wouldn’t have found the water until later.  But, I ended up spilling water on a present that I had for a friend’s birthday.  It turned out alright though in the end, since it didn’t ruin the gift.  I also forgot that I bid on something on eBay and then ordered the same item on Amazon.  Now, I have two DSLR cleaning kits.  I’ll probably give one to my Dad.  I guess paying attention more and writing things down might help pregnancy brain out.

Last week we started taking pictures of my belly everyday to show the progress.  Here’s a picture of me at one day from 8 weeks along.

Jen almost at 8 weeks along

I’m sure Ivan will make a video at the end for everybody to see.  We’ve also been writing down my weight everyday.

I’ve been reading What to Expect When You’re Expecting and Mayo Clinic Guide to a Healthy Pregnancy: From Doctors Who are Parents, Too! (Wheew that’s a mouthful!).  The books both answer questions that you probably didn’t even think about like How much caffeine can I have a day?, Are paint fumes harmful? or What’s the best way to treat a cold?  I love to find out the growth of the baby during my current week and knowing how big the baby is.  It recommends that mums should do 30 minute of exercise a day.  I’m going to start walking more near the house.  I walked with my cool neighbor Carrie.  The time flies by since she talks about her home birth and she’s so friendly and easy to talk to.  It’s great to hear what she recommends.  It’s great to find out about books or products that would help out.  The more I learn the less scared I get about being pregnant.

Leave a Reply

