Heartbeat Adjustment

Every now and then I’ll get tired during the day.  I don’t nap, but sometimes I do think it would be a good idea.

My lower back has been so sore.

I saw my midwife Kat on February 25, 2014.  Her intern was with her as well.  Ivan and I were excited to see her since we would probably get to hear the baby’s heartbeat.  Kat found out about my diet and how much water I’m drinking.  I told her I wasn’t sure I was eating enough of the foods on the Dr. Brewer’s diet she recommended.  I have been bad and stopped recording what I’ve been eating everyday.  I’m trying to eat more and eat small meals.  It just seems weird to me.  Ivan is good at reminding me to eat eggs or foods with whole grain and eating my protein for the day. Kat recommended that I keep track of what I eat for a week and send it to her.  Then, we’ll go over it together and she’ll tell me what she thinks.

I laid down on the couch and Kat put the cold gel on my belly.  She showed Ivan and I where the baby was – below the belly button.  You could feel it since you felt resistance compared to other parts of my belly.  Kat went searching for the heartbeat.  She found it and it was pretty fast at 170 bpm.  It was really cool to hear the heartbeat.  The baby ran away from the sound of the doppler.  She said that the baby was smart since it ran away from the doppler sound.  I knew the baby was hiding last time!  She said she had no concern about me getting any of the tests (like Down Syndrome or Cystic fibrosis) that are recommended for women over 35.  She said she would be concerned if the baby’s heartbeat was 130 bpm constantly.

Kat asked if I felt the baby.  I said no.  The intern asked if I felt bubbles.  I have no idea what I’m supposed to be feeling.  I think I felt a bubble the other day… not really sure though.

Kat said my belly was 15 inches which is pretty big since the average at this time is 12 inches.

I had to pee on a long strip which is difficult since it’s hard to pee on the whole thing.  I had to try a couple times since I hadn’t been drinking much water.

Kat thought I looked healthy and well hydrated.  She showed me a hip opener that Ivan could do while I was on my back to help with my sore back.  Also, she said taking a bath with Epsom salt could help as well.  She gave me three recommendations for chiropractors.  She thought prenatal adjustments would be great for me.

I asked Kat when we would get an ultrasound to determine the sex of the baby.  She said you could get one at 16 weeks, but it wouldn’t be very accurate.  She said at 18 weeks, it’s more accurate.  We’re both excited to find out if it’s a boy or a girl.  It’s more waiting for us, but it seems like time has been going pretty fast lately.

My parents came over on February 27, 2014 since my mum made me chicken and pork adobo.  She’s still pushing me to eat meat to get my protein.  I told them how we heard the baby’s heartbeat.  My parents still want me to get the amniocentesis.  This is the test I mentioned before for women over 35.  I’ve heard bad things about amniocentesis like injury to the mum or baby or even a miscarriage.  I think my baby will be just fine.  I’m going to love the baby no matter how he or she comes out.

I’m lucky to have such a  husband who loves to cook healthy food.  He made a great healthy pad thai which was very tasty.  He also made a grilled zucchini salad with walnut, pomegranates and mint-tahini dressing with a recipe he found from my Fit Pregnancy magazine.

Grilled zucchini salad with walnut, pomegranates and mint-tahini dressing

Sometimes, I don’t like the dishes he cooks – but I know it’s because some foods don’t taste good to me anymore or some sauce can be too overpowering.  I think my sense of smell is even more magnified now.  I have super smell now.  My husband Ivan was cooking pad thai and as I came down the stairs I was hit with the smell of fish sauce.

I downloaded Plant Nanny for my iPhone which reminds you to drink water and also creates a cute plant.  I’m hoping it will make sure I get enough water for the day.  It reminds me every two hours to drink water.  So far I have been drinking a lot more water.

On March 1, 2014, I met up with former best friend Kori for Prenatal Yoga.  I haven’t seen her since 2008.  Kori is also pregnant but she’s 15 weeks along.  She’s due on August 17.  It was nice to have a friend in class.  I do like Yoga since it’s challenging and it stretches me out.  At the end, the teacher has you relax each body part.  It’s just like hypnosis and it makes me feel really relaxed.

Near the bathroom at Belly Bliss, there’s a bar with a water jug with water and fruit inside.  Also, there’s jars of food filled with Goldfish, little boxes of raisins, pretzels, animal crackers and Dum Dums.

Belly Bliss Chinese takeaway box

I grabbed the cute Chinese takeaway box and filled it with Goldfish, pretzels and animal crackers.  It’s such a great idea since pregnant women are always eating.

I chatted with Kori for a few minutes after class.  She said that her son Kyan would be ending soccer soon, so she’ll be able to go to the Wednesday class more often.  That’s good news!  It was great seeing her again and I know we’ll be going to Prenatal Yoga again soon.

My clothes have been slowly not fitting anymore.  I will have to look for more pregnancy pants soon since I only have two pairs right now.  I’ve been wearing skirts a lot since it has elastic.  I will look for shorts and skirts soon since it’s warming up and it’s comfortable.  I still wear my shirts since I think it’s cute when the shirt is snug and it shows off your pregnancy belly.  Here’s a picture of me after the Miley Cyrus concert on March 1, 2014.

Jen after the Miley Cyrus concert

I’m trying to remain as fashionable as possible even when pregnant.

I was out with my husband Ivan and our friend Michael.  Michael thought the baby was craving bacon.  I was actually craving chicken fingers.  Michael is another person who is pro-meat when women are pregnant.  We went to the Bacon Bar.  Ivan was expecting lots of dishes with bacon in them.  But, there were only a few dishes and a couple drinks that contained bacon.  I was happy that chicken fingers was on the menu.  Michael and I shared the Man Candy which is glazed maple syrup bacon with a hint of cayenne and served with Crown Royal maple infused syrup.  It was really tasty.

Chicken Fingers at Bacon Bar

My chicken fingers were good, but had too much breading on it.  I had one piece left and I asked for a box.  Michael said you don’t have to take that home.  I said I will eat it later.  The waitress said she has plans for it later on.  Don’t try to take a pregnant woman’s food.  That is a bad mistake!

I had my first appointment with the chiropractor on March 3, 2014.  I looked at the reviews of the doctors that took insurance and Dr. Al Simoncelli had great reviews and he looked nice in his picture on his website.

I had lots of paperwork to fill out when I arrived at Mountain West Chiropractic.  I swear it seems like the paperwork never ends.  The receptionist showed me how to check in and change my problem areas on my body.  You can do this on a tv that is placed on the front counter or on an iPad.

I was called a few minutes later and went inside a room.  One of the friendly receptionists told me to take off my clothes and leave my underwear and bra on and put a blue gown on.  The blue gown had a slit that sort of covered you with velcro to close it up.

Jen at the chiropractor

I felt like I was at the hospital in this gown.  I was also told to watch a video on chiropractic care which wasn’t very exciting.

After I watched the video, I cracked the door like I was told.  Dr. Sabol came in.  He asked health questions.  He told me how he met a woman who was having trouble conceiving.  He said she needs to come in and have a chiropractic adjustment.  She did and soon after she became pregnant.

I was told to reach for my feet which I couldn’t.  I told him it hurt near my ankles which he thought was weird.  He made me stand towards the door while he had me turn my head to the left and then the right.  He figured out what my posture was.  He asked if it hurt when I was on my stomach.  I told him I didn’t know since I don’t ever go on my stomach.  He said I would get my adjustment in the other room.  He said to put my clothes back on and go to the other room when I was done.  It seemed silly to put on a gown just for a couple of minutes.

I went to the other room after I changed and waited on a chair.  Dr. Simoncelli said hello and showed me the chiropractic table I was to lay on.  He talked about how his wife was adjusted everyday and all her births were very short ones.  There were other people in the room, so he spoke directly at me.  I don’t if his voice was soft or what, but it seemed to be hypnotizing and I couldn’t stop looking at him.  I think he was putting me into a trance!

I laid down and he explained that the table moves sometimes when he presses down on a certain area.  It doesn’t hurt or anything, it’s just weird to hear the click of the table.  He doesn’t believe in medicine and said that what he did to my neck would help with my sinuses.  He said that I was really tight in my lower back.  My left side was worse.  He loosened it up on both sides, but one wasn’t as loosened as the other side.  He didn’t do anything with my ankles which I thought was weird since I did put that in my areas that I thought hurt and might need work on.  He asked if I could come back on Wednesday to see how I was feeling.  I said that’s fine.  I set up an appointment for Friday since I had a busy day planned for Wednesday.

So, I haven’t had much lower back pain since visiting the chiropractor.  I still have my allergies.  I put in drops in for my eye allergy everyday which helps a lot.

On March 5, 2014, I had a hypno massage with my doula Shannondoah.  It’s great that I don’t have to leave my house to get a massage.

Before the massage, I got to hear the baby’s heartbeat again.  I only heard it for a few seconds before the baby moved away.  It’s great to hear the heartbeat and know the baby is doing good.  The baby’s heartbeat was 165 bpm.

During this massage, I got to see a glimpse of the baby.  I didn’t see the baby last time since I have no clue if the baby is a girl or a boy.  I imagined a baby with dark brown hair that looked Asian and had green eyes.

I also got to go inside the house which looked like our house inside.  I also pictured the birth but in a faster birth video this time.  It was nice seeing me and Ivan in bed and I’m holding the baby after I gave birth.

I love hypno massages from Shannondoah since it’s so relaxing.  I always get a great night’s sleep the night after the massage.  If you’re looking for a masseuse in Las Vegas, you should contact Shannondoah.

Leave a Reply

