Birthday Food

On March 7, 2014, I went to see my chiropractor Dr. Simoncelli to tell him how I’m doing.  I wasn’t sure if I would be adjusted again.  I think I have it figured out.  Dr. Simoncelli talks really soft and it seems like he’s telling you a secret and only talking to you.  I don’t think he’s trying to put me in a trance anymore.  I told him my lower back felt a lot better.

Chiropractic table

I laid down on the chiropractic table.  The doctor cracked my back in two places and also my neck.  He also had me stand against a long pad that was on a wall and he cracked my back again.  He said I should come back next week.

I found out that my insurance did go through and it’s only $5 for the co-pay for each visit.  That’s great news!

It was my birthday a few weeks ago on the 4th.  Ivan’s mum and dad got me a funny pregnancy coloring book and an organic mommy care pack.

Mambino Organics Mommy Care Pack

I have been using the new belly butter which has a toner oil to be put on after.  The belly butter is greasier than the Burt’s Bees Mama Bee Belly Butter, but it smells fruity.  The organic belly butter is thicker and is made from mango, African shea and cocoa butter.  The toner oil has pomegranate, African shea and orange oil.  That’s why I think I smell like an orange after.  Ivan really likes the smell of it.

Ivan and I threw a birthday pinball pot luck party at our house on March 8, 2014.  It was a fun time playing games and eating.  My friends are awesome and bought gifts for me and for the baby.  The baby’s not even born and he or she is getting gifts already!  The baby got a bird hanging decoration for the nursery and lotion, bath gel, shampoo, tender tush and Gentle Baby essential oils.

I sent my midwife Kat my daily diet report which I kept track of for a week.  She thought that I wasn’t getting enough oils and protein.  She laughed when she saw I put Ew! next to the liver section.  She recommended that I have a smoothie everyday with nuts, milk (almond, goat or cow) and flaxseed oil or coconut oil.  I’m glad that Ivan makes great smoothies (he’s seriously known for them!), so he has been making me a smoothie everyday to ensure I get enough protein.

On Sunday March the 9th, Ivan and I met up with my big family for my birthday dinner.  I decided on Carmine’s at the Forum Shops since it’s a great place for groups to share food.  We got lots of food including a platter with different pastas and a big plate of my favorite dish penne alla vodka.

The HUGE Titanic at Carmine's

For dessert, we got the humungous Titanic dessert which has vanilla and chocolate ice cream, whipped cream, a brownie, chocolate sauce and nuts.   They sang Happy Birthday to me.  I had to snap a picture before blowing it out.  It was so delicious especially the chocolate ice cream and the brownie.

I have been feeling weak lately.  I try to lift things and they feel heavy now when they wouldn’t normally.  My midwife Kat said that my bones would be softer and it would be easier for me to bruise.

I have felt like my hands have been swelling up lately since my wedding ring seemed tighter than usual.  I have now switched to wearing my engagement ring which I actually think is prettier, so it works out well.  I wake up and my hands are numb.  Eventually, I won’t be able to wear any rings.

I talked my friend’s wife Shannon who’s about to give birth anytime soon and she said it started with her hands being numb and then her hands swelled up.  I already thought I had small, fat fingers.. they’re going to be fatter soon.

I saw my chiropractor again on March 14, 2014.  Before he does an adjustment, I take a deep breath and then exhale.  He did things to help with my sinuses.  He also pressed on my sinuses which hurt, but not sure it would help.  Dr. Simoncelli said that women who drank caffeine and took medication during pregnancy had a higher risk for their baby getting autism.  I’m not trying not to take my allergy medicine unless my allergies are really bad.

Ivan and I went to the Vegas Seven magazine 4th anniversary private party at Brooklyn Bowl that night with Maria, my cousin Charisse and her boyfriend Kia.  We got a free game of bowling and 4 drink tickets.  Sadly, I didn’t have a drink.  I do miss drinking.  But, I know it’s better for the baby not to drink.

We ate at their restaurant which has food by Blue Ribbon.  The fried chicken is so freaking good!  Kia wanted to get dessert.  I love dessert and we usually don’t get it since there’s no room left to put it.  Kia ordered the chocolate chip bread pudding.

Chocolate Chip Bread Pudding at Brooklyn Bowl Las Vegas

It was simply heavenly!  Wow, it was the best bread pudding I’ve ever had.  People like to feed pregnant women.  It’s so great!!  I love food.

The last couple of days I’ve been really tired, so much more tired than usual.  Sometimes I will take a nap during the day.

I’ve been debating on mentioning this.  It’ s a little embarrassing since it’s about nipples.  I KNOW that other women have experienced this since I’ve talked to family and friends about it.  When I get cold, my nipples get really hard and my left one hurts so bad and it’s so painful.  It was hurting so bad one day that Ivan and I were walking and I was walking too slow that we had to go back home since Ivan thought it would take us an hour to do a 30 minute walk at my current walking pace.

Usually rubbing my nipple or putting a cloth with hot water on it helps make the pain go away.

So, I’ve been a lot better at drinking a gallon of water a day.  I hate going to the bathroom so much, so that’s why I don’t drink a lot of water.  But, I know it’s good for me and the baby that I get enough water.  I go to the bathroom a lot anyway since I’m pregnant.

My allergies have been killing me the last two days.  I actually haven’t resorted to taking my allergy medicine.. but I might have to soon.  It has been super windy which is probably why my allergies are tripping.

Jen at 15 weeks and 1 day

I’ve been feeling great and I’m now 15 weeks and 1 day.  Sometimes I say I’m fat and it bums me out, but I’m not.. it’s just my belly expanding for my baby to grow in.

I have been craving bagels for some reason.  After my eye appointment today, I saw Einstein Bagels and had to stop in.  I got a blueberry bagel toasted with cream cheese.  It tasted soo freaking good!!

Leave a Reply

